Why Did the Deer Cross the Road?

Because I came home from work early.

I cut out of work at 4:00 on Wednesday, which put me home right at the end of legal shooting light (5:10 PM). As I walked from the train station down my dead-end road, I spotted at least three deer under the street light that is 15 yards from my front door. I took a photo of them, and the flash startled three more deer that were in my backyard.
Deer Across from My Front Door

Deer Across from My Front Door

All six or so deer ran into the conservation land across from my front door, which is exactly where Matt and I are going to scout Saturday morning. I guess we won’t have to go far to see any sign.
Tracks in My Front Yard

Tracks in My Front Yard

The quality the¬†photos and videos I got stinks because they’re taken with my iPhone on a dark, drizzly night.
I’ll set up my trail cam on Saturday, which will give us much better quality videos.
At 9:00 that same night, my wife came home from class to see four deer on our road and four deer in our backyard.
Clearly this is worth investigating. Matt and I will check it out on Saturday and report back on our findings.

~ Tony

Leave a Reply

