Herd Mentality

As I promised in last week’s post, I am reporting back with any good videos from the trail camera I set up about 75 yards from my house. I set up the camera at sunset on Sunday, January 21. I picked it up around sunset today, Friday, January 27.

Despite all the wind and rain that we had this week, including a nor’easter that lasted two of those days (Monday and Tuesday), there were only 23 videos on the camera. I thought for sure that there would be dozens of videos where the wind and rain set off the camera.

Well, as usual, Bushnell served us well. Only seven videos were caused by wind and rain. One was of me pruning the brush in front of the camera. One was of a gray squirrel. Three were of a cottontail rabbit. All the rest were caused by deer either walking in front of the camera or setting it off by sound by walking near it.

Not surprisingly, all of the videos are from right after the nor’easter cleared out. There are four videos from 3:06 PM to 3:10 PM on Tuesday. It takes more than the length of these four 30-second videos plus the between-video buffer time for the herd to walk eastward (that is, from my stand area toward my house). Therefore, it’s impossible to count how many deer are in this herd from those videos. It could be as many as eight animals.

At 3:00 AM on Wednesday, there’s a video of them walking westward (that is, from my house towards my stand site).

Take a look for yourself. Click the image below to watch all five videos in order.

After checking the camera, I took the dog for a walk around the neighborhood. Immediately, I noticed a turkey’s breast feather in my front yard. That surprised me because it’s been more than a month since I’d seen the flock of 14 turkeys that haunted our yard during last hunting season. It had been even longer since I saw the four birds that roosted next to our garage.

I had hoped that I’d get the turkeys on the trail camera, but I had no such luck. However, as I walked the dog along the opposite bank of the river just after sunset, something caught my eye. The whole flock, now down to twelve birds by my count, were roosted just across the river from my across-the-street neighbor. I snapped a quick photo with my phone.

Roosted Turkeys

Roosted Turkeys

It’s too bad Mass. bow season doesn’t start until October. Until then, I’ll be dreaming of ways to cull the herds.

~ Tony

Leave a Reply

