Spring Is in the Air

The weather is always crazy this time of year in New England. Some days feel like summer, some days feel like winter, but few days actually feel like spring.

The animals start acting crazy too, and that’s how you know it’s spring. Examples that I’ve seen in just the past week include:

  • Two chickadees fighting

  • Two cottontail rabbits fighting 
  • Two different gobblers strutting for hens

On my trail camera, I caught two raccoons getting frisky.

Then one of the raccoons then went after the camera.

Dad has his bears attacking his cameras, and I have raccoons attacking mine. I guess that’s the difference between rural hunting and suburban hunting.

Something about the camera spooked this button buck.

His mom has a sizable scar, but she seems no worse for the wear.

After a long, cold winter (and a cold spring!), I go a little crazy too. To cope, I start preparing my hunting gear. I started by hand-washing, drying, and waterproofing (with Camp Dry) my camo rain jackets.

Hand Wash Only

Hand Wash Only

Let’s hope we get enough spring-like weather to get in some archery practice and fishing soon!

~ Tony

Leave a Reply

